Home Page
Croeso i wefan ysgol Hafod y Wern.


What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.
Foundation Phase—Nursery, Reception, Year 1 and Year 2


In our school we have embraced the Foundation Phase. Recent research suggests that an over emphasis on making children read and write before they are ready to do so can be counter productive. Analysis states that children do not begin to benefit from extensive formal teaching until approximately 7 years of age in line with their social and cognitive development. Earlier introduction can result in underachieving and the attainment of lower standards. The Foundation Phase curriculum is designed to be appropriate to children‘s development. It is not a content driven curriculum—the emphasis is on acquiring skills.


Areas of Learning in the Foundation Phase:


  • Personal and Social Development, Well Being and Cultural Diversity
  • Language, Literacy and Communication Skills
  • Mathematical Development
  • Welsh Language Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development




In line with legal requirements all children follow an appropriate curriculum. The school cohorts are split into Foundation Phase and Key Stage 2.


Foundation Phase is made up of Nursery, Reception, Year 1 & Year 2.


Key Stage 2 is made up of Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6


Core Subjects

The term core subjects refers to English, Mathematics , Science and I .T .


Foundation Subjects

The term foundation subjects refers to History, Geography, Music, Art , Physical Education, Design Technology, Welsh (as a second language).


The delivery of the National Curriculum is organised in various ways depending upon the age and ability of the children using a combination of published schemes and teacher generated materials. Aspects of Literacy, Numeracy and some Science are taught as discreet subjects at various times in order to ensure full delivery of legal requirements. Teachers normally teach their own classes but some team teaching takes place to maximise on staff expertise.


Continuous Assessment takes place and at the end of the Foundation Phase and Key Stage 2 (Yrs 2 and 6) children are given a national curriculum level.


Religious Education meets the requirements of the agreed syllabus and daily act of collective worship takes place.